U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Investigating Unresolved (Cold) Cases

Training Event: June 24 & 29, 2021, 1:00-5:00 p.m. ET
Description

Investigating Unresolved (Cold) Cases

The webinar is law enforcement sensitive and is for federal, state, and tribal prosecutors and law enforcement only.

These two four-hour sessions will introduce attendees to the basic concepts, design and structure of a cold case unit.  The webinar will detail the specific actions that are needed to properly prepare a case file for investigation.  The presentations will cover issues seen in unresolved (cold) case investigations to include the following: cold case rules, victimology, behavioral issues, suspect development, family interactions, utilization of data bases and coordination with other agencies.  Many of the processes to be covered in this training are applicable to both missing persons and unresolved homicide cases.

Session I: June 24, 2021

  1. Why unresolved (cold) cases and how did we get here?
  2. Establishing a baseline; unresolved (cold) case rules and preparation of Policy and Procedures Manual.
  3. Inventory of case files; logging and organization of files.
  4. Triaging files for prioritization, investigation and prosecution.

Session II: June 29, 2021

  1. In depth review of case file documents, missing documents and victimology assessments.
  2. Family interactions and the interview of original detectives.
  3. Suspect development; organized versus disorganized crime scene; pre, surrounding and post-offense behavior clues.
  4. Development of theories of the crime; investigative plan and subsequent investigation steps.

Registration deadline: 5:00 p.m. ET, Wednesday, June 16, 2021
Deadline for OLE notification email: Friday, June 18, 2021   
Note: This training will use Eastern time for all sessions. If you are not located in the Eastern time zone, please check the times below for the time zone in your area.

Training Date June 24, 2021 June 29, 2021
Eastern Time  1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Central Time  12:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.  12:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Mountain Time  11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Pacific Time  10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Event Registration

Date Created: June 3, 2021