U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

National Indian Country Training Initiative Symposium

September 14-16, 2021
Description

Symposium on Missing or Murdered American Indians and Alaska Natives

The National Indian Country Training Initiative, Operation Lady Justice

On May 5, 2021, Attorney General Merrick Garland stated that “Generations of American Indians and Alaska Natives have experienced violence or mourned a murdered or missing family member or loved one. The lasting effects of such trauma and suffering ripple across their communities.” He also reaffirmed the Department of Justice's commitment to Tribes across the country who need and deserve federal resources to help bring answers and justice to their grieving communities. This commitment to tribes is echoed by the Departments of the Interior and Health and Human Services. In an effort to find lasting solutions to the public safety challenges Tribal communities encounter and to protect them from violence, abuse, and exploitation, a national symposium on missing or murdered Indigenous persons (MMIP) related issues for federal, state, tribal and local stakeholders is being held September 14-16, 2021. This MMIP training is via webinar and will address important topics like data collection, victim advocacy, creating a community strategy for addressing missing persons, and working collaboratively across jurisdictions. The webinar is free.

Register for the Symposium on Missing or Murdered American Indians and Alaska Natives.

Registration Deadline: Friday, September 10, 2021
OLE Notification Deadline: Monday, September 13, 2021

Schedule

This Webex online training will be held over three days:

  • Day 1: September 14, 2021, 1:30–5:15 p.m. EDT
  • Day 2: September 15, 2021, 1:30–5:15 p.m. EDT
  • Day 3: September 16, 2021, 1:30–5:15 p.m. EDT

This training will be using Eastern Daylight Time for all sessions. If you are not located in the Eastern Daylight Time Zone, please check the times below for the time zone in your area.

 

Day 1:  Sept. 14, 2021

Day 2:  Sept. 15, 2021

Day 3:  Sept.16, 2021

Eastern

1:30 p.m.–5:15 p.m. EDT

1:30 p.m.–5:15 p.m. EDT

1:30 p.m.–5:15 p.m. EDT

Central

12:30 p.m.–4:15 p.m. CDT

12:30 p.m.–4:15 p.m. CDT

12:30 p.m.–4:15 p.m. CDT

Mountain

11:30 a.m.–3:15 p.m. MDT

11:30 a.m.–3:15 p.m. MDT

11:30 a.m.–3:15 p.m. MDT

Pacific

10:30 a.m.–2:15 p.m. PDT

10:30 a.m.–2:15 p.m. PDT

10:30 a.m.–2:15 p.m. PDT

 

Agenda

Tuesday, September 14, 2021: 1:30–5:15 p.m. EDT
Overview of the National Indian Country Training Initiative and Operation Lady Justice
Data About MMIP: What We Know and What We Don't (Part 1)
Data About MMIP: What We Know and What We Don't (Part 2)

Wednesday, September 15, 2021: 1:30–5:15 p.m. EDT
Breakout Session 1A: Developing Tribal Community Response Plans for Missing Person Cases
Breakout Session 1B: Youth Vulnerabilities
Breakout Session 2A: Investigator's Panel
Breakout Session 2B: Victim and Family Services

Thursday, September 16, 2021: 1:30–5:15 p.m. EDT
Breakout Session 3A: State-Based Resources
Breakout Session 3B: Alerts
The Future of MMIP Work

Date Created: August 16, 2021