U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Task Force Members

"Lady Justice" used with permission from DG Smalling, Choctaw Nation (see reuse policy).

Current Task Force Members

Merrick Garland, Co-Chair

Attorney General, Department of Justice

Deb Haaland, Co-Chair

Secretary, Department of the Interior (Pueblo of Laguna)

Brian Turner

Executive Assistant Director, Criminal, Cyber, Response and Services Branch, Federal Bureau of Investigation, designee for the Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation

Bryan Newland

Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of Indian Affairs, Department of the Interior (Citizen Bay Mills Community Ojibwe)

Allison Randall

Acting Director, Office on Violence Against Women, Department of Justice

Jason O’Neal

Director, Bureau of Indian Affairs-Office of Justice Services, Department of the Interior (Citizen Potawatomi Nation)

Michelle Sauve

Acting Commissioner, Administration for Native Americans, Department of Health and Human Services (St. Regis Band of Mohawk)

Andrew Birge

U.S. Attorney for the Western District of Michigan and Acting Chair of the Native American Issues Subcommittee of the Attorney General’s Advisory Committee, Department of Justice

Robert Chapman

Acting Director, Office of Community Oriented Policing Services, Department of Justice

Kristen Mahoney

Acting Director, Bureau of Justice Assistance, Office of Justice Programs, Department of Justice

Katherine Darke Schmitt

Deputy Director, Office for Victims for Crime, Office of Justice Programs, Department of Justice

Thomas Walters

Director, Federal Law Enforcement Training Center, Department of Homeland Security

Elizabeth Fowler

Acting Director, Indian Health Services, Department of Health and Human Services (Comanche Nation)

Heidi Freschette

Deputy Assistant Secretary, Office of Native American Programs, Housing and Urban Development (Menominee and Brothertown from Wisconsin)

The Task Force is assisted by Executive Director Marcia Good, of DOJ’s Office of Tribal Justice. 

Serving as Special Advisors to the Executive Director are Matthew Lysakowski, Senior Advisor for Tribal Affairs, Office of Community Oriented Policing Services, U.S. Department of Justice; Lori McPherson, Senior Policy Advisor, Sex Offender Investigations Branch, U.S. Marshals Service; and a Senior Analyst with the Indian Country Special Jurisdiction Unit, Violent Crimes Intelligence Unit, FBI.

Tribal Advisory Groups

Within the three departments that comprise Operation Lady Justice – the U.S. Departments of Health and Human Services, Interior and Justice — there are numerous Tribal advisory groups. These groups of Tribal leaders advise federal officials on programs and policies affecting American Indians and Alaska Natives. Below is a listing and brief description of some of these groups.


Inaugural Task Force

The inaugural Task Force members, listed below, served from January 2020 to January 2021:

Date Created: February 22, 2021